Professional Development
1h Assessable

Webinar Time:

3 December at 12pm EST; 11am CST; 9am PST

4 December at 3am Brisbane; 4am Sydney/Melb time


After attending this webinar, the participant should be able to:

  • Review the goals, purpose and definition of malnutrition indicators as defined by ASPEN and AND.
  • Utilize the malnutrition indicators and identify their implications on the diagnosis of pediatric malnutrition.
  • Define and understand how to implement pediatric malnutrition screening and rescreening tools

 

About the presenters

 

Melinda White

Dr White has worked as a paediatric dietitian for over 20 years and is currently the Acting Director of Dietetics and Food Services, Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service. She is the chair of the Queensland Paediatric Working Group and specialises in malnutrition treatment and prevention. Dr White’s research activities are targeted towards nutrition-related clinically translatable outcomes as demonstrated by her PhD in the area of paediatric critical care nutrition. Recently, Dr White’s research direction has been malnutrition prevention and screening where she has led the National Paediatric Nutrition Snapshot Day and multi-centre translational research in paediatric nutrition screening producing the Paediatric Nutrition Screening Tool which is used internationally in major paediatric hospitals.

 

Patricia Becker, MS, RDN, CSP, CNSC

Patricia Becker is a board-certified specialist in pediatric nutrition and nutrition support. She has worked at Dayton Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, and the University of North Carolina Children’s Hospital, among others. In addition, she is in private practice KidsRD.com as a pediatric dietitian, specializing in pediatric undernutrition.Ms. Becker served as chair of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library Pediatric Nutrition Screening Project. She is the author of the Pediatric Malnutrition section of the Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual. She is a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics/ASPEN Pediatric Malnutrition Work group and lead author of the Consensus statement for ASPEN/AND pediatric malnutrition. Ms. Becker is an author of Identifying Malnutrition in Preterm and Neonatal Populations: Recommended Indicators.


Continuing education: 1.0 RD CPEU for CDR credentialed practitioners


Supported by