Professional Development
1h Assessable

Webinar time:

2 December at 7 pm  EST; 6 pm CST; 4 pm PST

3 December at 10am Brisbane; 11am Syd/Melb time

After attending this webinar, the participant should be able to:

  • Review the goals, purpose and definition of malnutrition indicators as defined by ASPEN and AND.
  • Utilize the malnutrition indicators and identify their implications on the diagnosis of pediatric malnutrition.
  • Define and understand how to implement pediatric malnutrition screening and rescreening tools

 


The recording will be available after the live event

About the presenters

Melinda White, PHD, GRAD DIP NUTR&DIET, BSC, APD

Dr White has worked as a paediatric dietitian for over 20 years and is currently the Acting Director of Dietetics and Food Services, Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service. She is the chair of the Queensland Paediatric Working Group and specialises in malnutrition treatment and prevention. Dr White’s research activities are targeted towards nutrition-related clinically translatable outcomes as demonstrated by her PhD in the area of paediatric critical care nutrition. Recently, Dr White’s research direction has been malnutrition prevention and screening where she has led the National Paediatric Nutrition Snapshot Day and multi-centre translational research in paediatric nutrition screening producing the Paediatric Nutrition Screening Tool which is used internationally in major paediatric hospitals.

 

Patricia Becker, MS, RDN, CSP, CNSC, FAND

Patricia Becker is a board-certified specialist in pediatric nutrition and nutrition support. She has worked at Dayton Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, and the University of North Carolina Children’s Hospital, among others. In addition, she is in private practice KidsRD.com as a pediatric dietitian, specializing in pediatric undernutrition.Ms. Becker served as chair of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library Pediatric Nutrition Screening Project. She is the author of the Pediatric Malnutrition section of the Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual. She is a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics/ASPEN Pediatric Malnutrition Workgroup and lead author of the Consensus statement for ASPEN/AND pediatric malnutrition. Ms. Becker is an author of Identifying Malnutrition in Preterm and Neonatal Populations: Recommended Indicators.


Continuing education: 1.0 RD CPEU for CDR credentialed practitioners

Abbott Nutrition Health Institute is approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing, Provider #CEP 11213.

Abbott Nutrition Health Institute is a Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Accredited Provider with the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR). CDR Credentialed Practitioners will receive Continuing Professional Education Units (CPEUs) for completion of these activities/materials.


Supported by